Reptiles

I was on a rather long nature hike when I came to a waterside deck with a bench, so I took a short break. While sitting there, this young five-lined skink with its beautiful bright blue tail appeared from between the slats of wood.

 

On this photographic hike along a coastal waterway I was busy looking for birds not paying much attention to what was on the ground. Then I had a feeling that I should look down before my next step. I am sure this young copperhead would have bitten me if I hadn’t seen it.

 

Along the way one morning, I captured this tortoise making its way across the field toward the street. They are the only tortoise in the eastern US.

Leave a Reply

